Giving Nail Polish Jewelry a Shot



Nail Polish Jewelry First (1)

I kept seeing these pins on Pinterest proclaiming the easy awesomeness of nail polish jewelry, but I didn’t need any pretty, shiny things, so I passed them on by.  Then I realized that, okay, I don’t need pretty, shiny things, but dangit did I want some!

Nina Ultra Pro holographic gold topcoat backed by Butter London Queen Vic

Nina Ultra Pro holographic gold topcoat backed by Butter London Queen Vic

Sally Girl white glitter backed by China Glaze For Audrey

Sally Girl white glitter backed by China Glaze For Audrey

So last week I got online and checked out what Sun and Moon had to offer, ordered myself up some glass domes and settings, and sat back to wait.  This morning, what was waiting for me in my mailbox?  Why, a lovely priority mail package with all my settings and domes, of course!

 

 

 

When I got home from taking the Munchkin to spend the night with my mom (we have to make a seriously lengthy road trip for a friend’s baby shower tomorrow), I set to work.  This is really an incredibly easy process, once you get past deciding what polishes you want to use with what settings.  That part took me a while, especially since I had to round up all my errant nail polishes hanging out around the house.

China Glaze Riveting backed by Ulta Red Carpet Red

China Glaze Riveting backed by Ulta Red Carpet Red

China Glaze Water You Waiting For backed by China Glaze Hanging in the Balance

China Glaze Water You Waiting For backed by China Glaze Hanging in the Balance

Anyway, here’s how you do it:

Turn your glass pieces over so that they’re facing backside (the side you would fasten into the setting) up.

Apply one to two coats of glitter polish to get a good covering.  I needed two coats with all of them to keep them from being terribly spotty.  Let these dry completely.  Well, let me rephrase this a bit.  You don’t need a glitter polish; I just chose them to give my pieces a little bit more depth and interest.  You could just as easily use a single polish that has the amount of dimension you like, in which case you could skip the next step.

Now apply a coat of whatever solid color polish you’ve chosen to use with your glitter.  This is really just to give a solid background to your pieces or add a little color contrast or depth.  Let this dry completely.

Use resin or glue (I used superglue because we have 475,631 tubes of it between here and the shop) to fasten your domes into the settings.  Let dry completely.

Now use jewelry pliers to attach any jump rings you need to your pendants and earrings, and you have a mass of new pretties!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving Nail Polish Jewelry a Shot

  1. Bonnie Provencal says:

    Don’t you just LOVE Sun and Moon? I love their stuff and use them exclusively in my jewelry making. Love this idea, and just might have to give it a try. Thanks for the tute!

    • I do! I hadn’t bought anything from them before I tried this, but I’m thoroughly in love now. I hope the tutorial helps if you decide to give this a try — I get compliments almost every time I wear a piece I made.

Leave a Reply

