Eating My Fill in The Big Easy


I have a confession to make: Half of the reason I’m excited about our short vacation in New Orleans next year is because of all the possibilities of good food.  And beignets.  I’ve been dying to try one since my parents came back from a trip talking about how good they are, and that was easily ten years ago.  I might even drink coffee while eating one, just to get the full experience.  (And I say that as someone who hates coffee.)

So, obviously, either early one morning or very late one night, I’ll be making a stop at Cafe du Monde to get my beignet on.  Okay, “early” one morning is a relative term in New Orleans.  As is “morning,” I suspect.  But at some point, Cafe du Monde for beignets.  That much is certain!

Now I just have to figure out where else to eat while we’re there.  I figure we’ll have one really nice night out and stick with lower-end fare the rest of the trip since we’ll be there with friends.  Dive bars, holes in the wall, as long as the food is good, I’m there.

Any suggestions?

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment