Random Mutterings on a Bus


Okay, so not mutterings out loud, more like muttering thoughts running through my head the other day.  I just hadn’t had time to sit down and type them out.

*Muttering…

Getting my brain working feels like an exercise in futility.  I can’t get any of the creative juices flowing, and I know it’s not just because of my job.  That takes a certain amount of creativity but that shouldn’t deplete my stock entirely.  Maybe it’s just too early in teh morning.  Must. Have. Caffeine.

*Distracted… Muttering…

Might be going to DefCon, even if I have to essentially prostitute myself to my boss to do it.  Just one more reason I’ll be glad to be out of here: the utter futility of trying to accomplish any training.  I might be leaving the office, but it doesn’t mean I’ll never work this subject matter again.  In fact, I know absolutely that I will.  So whhy not help me get as good a grasp of it as possible before I leave?  I’m still part of the organization, just not this team!

*grumbles*  And he wonders why so many people want out.

Totally unethical note: He lied this morning about needing the names of everyone who applied for a new vacant set of positions.  Said he needed to know how many had put in to tell the Front Office because the teams will lose the FSL of each person selected.  True about the FSLs, but false about the Front Office needing to know.  He just wanted to know who else is looking for an escape route.  His most recent whipping boy left, so a new one is required.

It there were anything he could do to me for leaving (aside from holding me for four months for absolutely no reason), I have no doubt he would.  I’d become the new whipping boy.  Fortunately, I handed him my transfer as a fait accompli.  I’m free, even if it takes me four more months to get out.

I’m so close I can almost taste it.

*Ooh, shiny!  Muttering…

My mind was totally blown yesterday when someone showed me an article on CNN that included a salary converter.  It converts your current salary-to-COI ratio to the comparable ratio in another city.  It breaks down how housing, food, gas, utility, etc costs compare as well.

I put my salary in this area, then told it to calculate for the new city.  Holy moly!  Even with my downward salary adjustment, I’m going to have about $10,000 extra in disposable income compared to what I have now when we move due to the lower cost of everything.  Housing was the big one: housing there costs 45% of housing here.

Down payment, here we come!

*Oh, a house, how wonderful… Muttering…

I can’t wait to have a place of our own.  Owning a home isn’t a picnic, but it has a few distinct advantages over an apartment.

  • I can paint the walls any color I want.
  • I can hang whatever I want on the walls, even if it requires screws.
  • I can parent as many furbabies as I desire (withing regulations), rent-free.
  • No one is listening on the other side of the exterior walls.
  • Want more soundproofing?  No problem!  (within budget limits)
  • Garage.  By extension, no desperate searching for a parking space in the rain.
  • Full-sized washer and dryer.
  • I can remodel and have that consist of more than moving the couch from one wall to anohter.
  • A yard for the (hypothetical) kids to play in!

We should be in a position to start looking next year.  I really can’t wait.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

