Blogroll


So, the newest blogroll question, based on this article:

“Write about what you eat when you’re alone.  Is it any different from what you eat when you have friends over, or even when you’re eating with your s/o or kids?  Why is that?”

I think I really treat myself when I eat alone.  I put together something I really enjoy, something healthy, something that makes me feel good about myself.  Usually, at least.

Southern Honey hates vegetables other than green beans, peas and corn.  I love vegetables of all kinds: squash, peas (in pod and out), corn, peppers of all colors, broccoli, carrots, spinach when it’s raw, green beans, cucumbers, asparagus… You see where I’m going with this.

I avoid fixing dishes with a lot of these ingredients because Southern Honey will just pick them out, eat around them or make himself something else entirely.  It can be tiring to find a balance between what I want to eat so badly and the more limited menu he’ll happily choose from.

So, when I’m alone, I try to indulge myself in foods with many more vegetables: stirfries, pasta with tons of sauteed veggies, salads.  It helps me feel like I’m doing something good for myself, and it makes me happy.  The feeling behind it is almost exactly what someone quoted in the book said:

“Eating alone is nothing less than a luxurious, even decadent, act,” she says, “because I get to think about myself. I don’t have to think about someone else.”

I don’t have to worry about making sure Southern Honey gets the meat he craves while avoiding the tomatoes he hates to eat hot and the Mexican food he dislikes so strongly.  I can balance my protein/carb/veggie/fruit intake and eat something I love without feeling guilty for eating something he’ll hate.  I can relax in a way that I often can’t when I cook for us both because I’m cooking one meal.  It’s wonderful.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogroll

  1. I think Southern Honey is sitting out on some great food!

    • southernsugar says:

      That’s what I keep trying to tell him, but he doesn’t listen. Drives me absolutely batty sometimes! :~D

Leave a Reply

