Of Deals and Tech Specs


Small confession: I’m addicted to Hell’s Kitchen.

Ok, now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, on to the real reason I’m here.

I need a new computer.  My current one is coming up on its seventh birthday and is on its third hard drive.

I had no say in the specs on this one when it was purchased.  My dad took it upon himself to pick it out and order it with my scholarship money.  I appreciated it but I would have loved to have some say in the project.  There have also been some major leaps in technology, so what was available seven years ago has been far surpassed by the computers of today.

I’ve got it narrowed down to two options: another Dell or an Acer.

The Acer is on sale for six hundred dollars at Staples this week.  It’s got 4 gigs of RAM, 320 GB hard drive, an 8 hour battery life, Vista Home Premium (which should qualify for a free upgrade to 7 when it comes out), a 14″ screen, and a solo Intel processor.  It weighs in at a whopping 4.2 pounds.

The Dell, once ramped up to comparable specs, is going to cost $624.  It would be heavier and thicker, though, weighing in at nearly five pounds, and the battery would have a much shorter life, since it’s a four-cell rather than a six-cell.

I really want to go with the Acer.  It’s pretty much everything I’ve been looking for: extended battery life, small screen, DVD burner, super-thin.  My concerns are the solo processor and the question of whether the OS will qualify for the upgrade.  I don’t want to be stuck with Vista any longer than necessary, but this is a very good deal.  The price will go up another hundred dollars on the only computer I’ve found so far that meets almost all my desires.

So, I think what I’m going to do is sleep on it tonight.  I’m going to go to Staples tomorrow and ask about the Acer.  And if the OS is eligible for the upgrade, I strongly suspect I’ll come home with a new laptop.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

