Future Homeowners?


Well, it looks like the computer is on hold for right now.

Instead, we’re looking to buy a house.  Yep, that’s right, we’re looking to become homeowners!

We’ve found several properties in our price range on the market just by searching online.  I think our next step is to contact a real estate agent in the area, followed by a mortgage broker who does FHA loans.  Not only do we qualify for those (which allow lower down payments, perfect for us), but we’d also qualify for the $8000 first time homebuyer tax credit.

We’re pretty excited about the concept, especially after living up here where the housing market is ridiculously inflated.  It’s incredible how many starter homes and single family homes exist down there.  They just aren’t built up here because it’s not considered to be a practical use of limited resources.  But there appears to be glut of them on the market where we’re headed.

I couldn’t believe it, to be honest.  I mean, we found houses on ten to twelve acres for less than $115,000.  And while several are out of town, they’re not prohibitively far for me to drive every day.  I’m currently less than ten miles from my office, yet my commute takes nearly an hour each way.  There, I should be able to make a ten mile commute in less than twenty minutes.

Now I just have to work out with the transfer people when I can take a house hunting trip so we can check some of these out.  As well as when I report where… And who’s coming to move our stuff when.

I was excited before, but now I’m thrilled!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

