And a Puppy…


One day closer to Kentucky — we’re under the sixty day mark now!

Talked with my dad about getting the Cavalier once we move.  All I’ll need to do is pay to title it over.  We’re going to need two cars once we each have a job because most of the houses we’ve found are five to ten miles outside the city.  We’ll still have the motorcycle too, but that’s really only a good weather vehicle.

I finally got in touch with the Transfer Unit today.  So I’ve got a bit of a better idea of how things are going to work out.  House hunting trip starting August 12th.  Southern Honey will be leaving on the 15th or 16th (weather depending) on the bike to join me.  I’ll come back the 21st.  Then the movers will be here on September 12th to get everything, and I’ll head out on the 13th.

Hmmm, I may need to rework that… If I don’t get administrative leave, that will mean I’ll be reporting to the office on the 14th, without having had any down time.  I may need to take off the 11th and have the movers come then.  Looks like another call to TU tomorrow.  🙂

If it takes us longer than that to close on a house, we’ll have thirty days temp housing paid, along with storage for our stuff.

In the meantime, we’ve got a good lead on getting the collection off all our credit reports, and my mom is going to put me in touch with an old family friend who’s lived down there for several years to figure out what neighborhoods are good.

I really can’t wait to be in a place of our own, so I hope this goes well.  No more footsteps overhead.  No more upstairs neighbor’s dog howling at all hours of the day and night.  No  more next-door neighbor’s shower and washing machine sounds blasting through the walls.  One day…

And a puppy…

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And a Puppy…

  1. msucshot says:

    So, the cavalier makes its return to active duty. Glad to hear that you’re getting all of the details in order for the big move. ttyl!

    • southernsugar says:

      Yep, the Cavalier will ride again. I don’t know whether I’m more excited about having a house or driving a stick shift again… Is that sad?

Leave a Reply

