Wow, That Was Not Cool


So, I feel like a moron.

Southern Sugar and I took the motorcycle out on our way to the theatre to see the newest Harry Potter movie and stopped at Target on the way to get snacks (AMC theatres allow patrons to bring in outside food). When I went to take my helmet off to go into the store, I somehow managed to hit myself with it in the hinge of my jaw.

Let me just say that that is about the last place you want to hit yourself or get hit. You need to move that part of you to talk, to chew, to smile, to swallow… to do pretty much anything involving your mouth. It’s also right next to your ear, so the pain kind of bleeds over. Oh, yeah, and the motorcycle helmet is padded right there, so it puts all kinds of pressure on that joint. I didn’t think I was going to make it back home to get the car, it hurt so much.

Why did we need to go back and get the car (aside from me being a complete klutz)?

Because the tags expired last month but Southern Sugar didn’t think to check until today. He knew the car was good to go until November, so we hadn’t thought to worry about the bike. Fortunately, I think we can renew them online and have the new tags mailed out here. Then we’ll change the registration after we move.

As a result of me being well set to beat myself up, I was majorly uncomfortable during the movie and I didn’t even bother opening my box of Nerds. Southern Honey’s Gushers just about made me cry when I tried to eat them; I was reduced to sucking on the darn things until they dissolved. Even the noodles in the chicken noodle soup I made when I got home hurt my jaw.

Oh, and that side of my face kind of looks like the cheek of a squirrel headed for its stash with a full load. Awesome.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

