Home Buying Tips and a Fun Housing Option


I’m doing pretty well on the home buying front.

My mom mailed me a couple of home buying guides, which I went through Monday and Tuesday.  I made note of a few new potentials that I hadn’t found online.

Then yesterday I got online and printed off information on each of the homes we want to look at.  I three hole-punched them all and put them into a binder.  I’ve also got the paperwork for my transfer in there so I have a handy reference on what I need to do and what can be paid for.  I feel as though I’ve accomplished something!

We’ve found a few really interesting homes along the way.  My current favorite is one that has been renovated by an artist.  Most of the interior is painted a bright cheerful green and a light purple.  It’s certainly unique, but it has an attached workshop that could be converted to more living space, a garage, and 1.5 acres of land.  Not to mention being in a good school district.

It’s not much to look at from the outside (the artist’s energies didn’t extend to landscaping), but it’s growing on me.  I’m just trying not to fall in love before I see it in person.

I’m also learning about heating systems and energy efficiency.  We really can’t afford to live somewhere we have to pay for propane.  Natural gas (forced air gas) would be pushing it.  But electric heat would be doable, as would a heat pump system.  I was under the impression that a heat pump was fueled by gas, but apparently most are electric — although some are geothermal, which I think is sweet.

So, my word of warning to those looking to buy a house for the first time: Don’t go with what you think you know.  Do your research so you don’t find yourself eliminating houses the way I had been doing.  And find a way to get organized early on so you aren’t scrambling to do it later.  A three-ring binder with folders and dividers works for me, but someone else might want an accordion file or a simple manila folder.  All that matters is that you figure out what works for you.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

