Oh, You Mean You Actually READ This?!


A few days ago I posted the URL for the blog on my Facebook page.  I’m not sure why; I’ve never been all that open about my blogs before.  In fact, my first blog served more as an online journal than anything else, albeit one to which certain, very specific individuals had access — and, even then, I would on occasion write something so private that I would password protect the entry.

I guess I figured no one on Facebook would care that much about what I had to say, so they wouldn’t bother reading it.  Therefore, what would it hurt to have the URL out there?

Then my readership spiked on Friday.  Massively.  With many of the referrals coming from my Facebook account.

Now I know that my Facebook friends are reading my blog.  And I’m suddenly not sure about that.

It’s ridiculous, I realize that, to be so concerned over the fact that my friends have access to my blog.  Yet I am, and for no reason I can articulate.  After all, I haven’t named names or complained about anything that might get me into trouble with any of them, nor do I intend to.  So what’s the big deal?

I think it’s the fact that, before I posted the URL to Facebook, the only other people who knew about the blog were random people who searched for any of my tags on Google or something and anyone on a forum I frequent who enjoys reading the Blogroll.  Now it’s real and official because people I know in real life can see what’s up with my day-to-day goings-on.

I’m sure I’ll get used to it in time.  Until then, I’ll just keep blogging and boring people to tears.  What can I say?  My life is pretty inane.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, You Mean You Actually READ This?!

  1. msucshot says:

    I totally understand that strange, unsettling feeling. I just found out last night that one of my friends/coworkers actually has mine bookmarked.

Leave a Reply

