Blogroll


A new blogroll question, since I’m two weeks behind:

If you could be any fictional character, who would you be and why?  Do they have similar traits to you, or are they a completely different personality type??

Alternatively (or in addition), who is your ideal fictional partner (rel@tionship partner, not partner in crime).  What about them is appealing to you?

When I was growing up, I totally wanted to be Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  Who wouldn’t?  She’s fierce, pretty, and kicks some serious demonic and vampiric butt.  Pretty much the opposite of how I saw myself at the time.

Now, though, I really don’t think I would go for that.  I’m old enough to realize that her life as a teenager was very screwed up: She’s in high school but she’s supposed to be saving the world and dating a hot but moody vampire on the side.  She’s got a lot going on in her life, and she has to balance school with Slaying with keeping her mother safe (oh, and spending time with her dad, who is divorced from her mom).  And she’s not dumb, really, but she can be a major airhead.  I can’t imagine wanting any of those things for myself now.

Currently I’m thinking about getting a side-gig as Elizabeth Bennet, but only from the more recent publication Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.  She gets to be smart, witty, charming, pretty, and she kicks some major zombie bootay!  I don’t feel like I have all those qualities, although I have enough smarts and plenty of stubbornness, which she also possesses.  So, not a total opposite, but enough of one to make it appealing.

And I prefer that Elizabeth to the original because in the original, I just don’t think there was enough of a world for women: they sat at home and raised their children.  At least in the newest version they get to go out and kill zombies, too.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

