Mmm, Breakfast!


I’ve hit a writing rut.  I know that I want to blog, but I just can’t find the energy or true interest to get me started and keep me going.  I keep getting distracted by other things and wander off to random websites instead.

Maybe it’s Blogger’s Block?

Whatever the reason, it’s contributed to some lousy posts lately, not the least of which is the one that got eaten by the computer the other night.  The replacement post really wasn’t any better, though.  At least the first one had some serious vigor to it!

On the bright side of all that running around like a chicken with my head cut off to get the bread and muffins made, the bread went over extremely well yesterday.  When I got ready to leave, there were two slices left, so I plated one up for my coworker who’s currently on the night shift and left it at her desk.  The other I left for everyone who was still there and would be there today.  The muffins were less of a success, but I left those, too.  I doubt there will be any left when I get back on Monday.

I’m hungry and we have no breakfast food.  Ironically, I took it all to work with me yesterday.  I may have to get creative and fix some cinnamon toast or something here soon.  Love me some cinnamon toast!

When I was growing up, this was one of my absolute favorite things for Mom to make for breakfast during the week (only over the summer, though; not enough time during the school year).  Take bread, butter it, and sprinkle on a mix of sugar and cinnamon.  Then put it under the broiler and keep a watchful eye to make sure it doesn’t burn.  When the butter and sugar are all melted and the bread starts to crisp, remove.  Let it cool a few seconds and enjoy!

Southern Honey fixes a slight variation on the theme with marshmallow fluff: Just replace the butter with a thin coat of fluff, add sugar/cinnamon mix, and broil.  Voila!  A total sugar rush that tastes like heaven.

Well, the bread had gone moldy (again), so no cinnamon toast for me.  Instead, I ran to Safeway and bought a box of granola.  We had bananas too, so granola with bananas and milk it was.  Yummy!

Now I’m just waiting for the moving guy to call.  I think I’m going to have to move over by the window in order to get cell phone service, though.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

