To Believe


I read a blog on a fairly regular basis that has gotten me thinking lately.

The author is a strong Catholic with a wonderful family and a belief in guardian angels.  I love reading the blog because it makes me think about my life, my outlook, and my faith.

I was raised Catholic, to the point of attending the parish school for twelve years, but I don’t know that I’ve ever had faith the way the blog author does.  It’s reflected in every post, in every word sometimes.  But it never feels preachy or overwhelming to me — instead, I just get the impression that it is so pervasive in the author’s life that it wouldn’t be possible to write without it.

It makes me want to have faith like the author’s.  I haven’t had strong faith in a while.  I believe in God, but we don’t have a close personal relationship these days.  It was easier when I was in school and everything was “the Church this” and “the Church that” and I just had to follow the party line.  However, once I got out into the real world, I started having real-world experiences and I realized I couldn’t just blindly follow what the Church said.

I suppose that I should say that I still do have faith in God, but I have no faith in the Church anymore.  And so I’m kind of drifting a bit because I have to do everything on my own.  I have to set my course, and while I have something to base it on, it’s harder to do it on my own.  I want to have faith as strong as the blog author’s, to have it be as much a part of my life, to have it shape my decisions and my words.

It almost makes me want to cry sometimes to see how strong the author’s faith is in comparison to my own.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Believe

  1. Jesus disciples asked Him to increase their faith, why not seek God for yourself? God is no respecter of person, what He’s done for others He’ll do for you as well.

    It is not necessary, in so many words to believe in an organization, only to believe in God. Jesus told His disciples, to have faith in God, not in man or in any kind of system, but in God. It’s a personal thing… first and foremost it must be based on a personal relationship. We do get stronger as we encourage one another, but there must be a direct connect to God first of all and most of all.

    I pray that God will bless you and give you what you need.

Leave a Reply

