I Have Returned


Well, I’m back in the Big City for three more weeks.  I think the time is going to fly by because I’ve got so much to do getting ready for the move.  I hope so, at least, because that will hopefully help keep my mind off the fact that I left Southern Honey back in New Town.

Nothing brings my awareness of the Big City back like sitting in traffic, and today was no exception.  It was raining by the time I got within fifty miles, so of course everyone who absolutely, positively had to be on the road was heading into the city alongside me.  That made for less than ideal visibility, which led to us crawling along for no good reason other than the fact that there were so many cars and so much water that no one could see what was going on.

Also, it’s good to know the roads don’t drain outward.  Giant traffic snarl coming around the Outer Loop.  I was so close to the apartment that I could almost taste it when we came to a halt.  Then we inched along at ten miles an hour — which, let me just say, is not easy with a manual transmission — until we passed a mobile “Get out of this lane!” sign and two police cars.  Apparently all the rain that had fallen had chosen one spot to collect and had subsequently flooded the fast lane.  Thank you, civil engineers.  Y’all probably designed that spot down I-95 where the HOV lanes merge into the fast lane, too, didn’t you?

In other news, someone apparently found my blog by searching for “nude wife in jetted tub”.  This means I have to conduct the same search to find out where I talked about being nude in a jetted tub, as I can’t recall doing so since I started the blog.

Also, lemonade + flavored vodka = pure WIN.  I’m hoping the vodka will prove depressant enough to counteract the Mountain Dew I needed to survive the drive out here.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

