To NaNo or Not to NaNo?


Do I want to do NaNoWriMo or not?  I’m not sure that, come November, I’m going to have the energy to devote to writing a novel.  But I would love to give it a try.  I think tonight or tomorrow I might sit down and see what ideas I have percolating.  It would be a good excuse to finish Back Roads if I can find the time.

I have to admit that I’d love to be a published author.  I mean, I write stuff for work, but I’d rather write something people would actually like to read.  Not something they have to read to do their jobs.  I want to scare people with Back Roads and to shatter their conceptions of the slasher.  I want to take a look at how real people, not slasher stereotypes, would react to such a situation.  Most of all, I want to entertain people.

The slasher is so stereotypical and so thematic that I think it would be easy to surprise an audience.  They expect gore and destruction.  They expect brainless bimbos and swaggering jocks.  I want to give them violence and chills and frights, but I want to do it with real people.  Real people don’t exist in slashers.

Maybe this means that what I want to convey won’t work in print media.  That it would only work on film.  I hope not, but I may find that that’s what happens.  I guess then I would start adapting the novel into a screenplay, but I would be disappointed a bit.  Screenplays aren’t what I’m looking to do.

Maybe that could be fun, too, though.  I mean, isn’t screenwriting a sort of natural corrolary to acting?  I love being on stage.  Perhaps I could learn to love being behind the scenes as well.

*snickers*

All of this assumes, of course, that the darned thing is any good!  None of this will matter one tiny bit if what I write turns out to be a putrescent pile of excrement like so much other drivel that gets written.

Although look at Ann Coulter.  That woman’s books practically fly off the shelves.  Hmmm… I see now.  To be successful, all I need to do is to write something “satirical” and piss off approximately half of the American public!  And if that doesn’t work, I’ll take a page out of Kathy Griffin’s book (What?  A pun?  Me?  Never!) and label myself a “D-list” celebrity.  Brilliant!  I’ll be infamous — which is much more entertaining than being famous — before I’m thirty!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

