Big City/Small Town


I’m ready to be done with this city.

Don’t get me wrong, I love DC.  I really do.  There are few places as awesome to visit, in my opinion, because there are so many cheap or free, interesting, fun things to do, not to mention an abundance of food choices from all over the world.  I’ve always enjoyed coming here.

But I’ve realized I can’t keep living here.  I can’t take being this close on top of other people.  I can’t deal with the ridiculous congestion on the roads.  I can’t continue wasting my day commuting an hour to go less than ten miles.  I can’t justify spending this much on property I’ll never own.

When I’m gone, I will miss the people I work with.  I’ll miss being able to have Ethiopian food one weekend and French food the next, with trips to an Irish pub, a South American chicken spot, and someplace for pizza in between.  I will miss the possibility of a stroll by the monuments or on the Mall.  I’ll definitely miss the shopping.

But I think we’re going to gain a lot by moving someplace smaller.  We’re going to be able to afford a house, which means kids and pets.  We’ll be dealing with smaller schools, so I’m hoping our kids will have better teacher/student ratios and more one-on-one time with their teachers.  My commute will be cut in half time-wise, while doubling in length.  And we’ll be closer to our long-time friends and our families.  Oh, and did I mention the breathing space afforded by an acre of grass and trees?  A yard for the pets and kids!

Big cities aren’t superior to small towns to me, although they’re not necessarily inferior, either.  Although I prefer small towns, they each have their benefits.  In our case, though, the small town benefits come out on top.  Guess it’s a good thing we have to move to one!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

