Small Town Love


The weather changed in the blink of an eye, and a new set of seasonal allergies has kicked in.  At least I hope that’s the source of my stopped-up nose, watering eyes, raspy throat and complete exhaustion.  I don’t want to be looking at anything contagious.

In small town news, it was fantastic last week to be able to go downtown on assignment for work and meet my mom and Southern Honey for lunch.  I was able to call my mom ten minutes beforehand and Southern Honey a bit before that, and we all got together no problems because her house (where Southern Honey had stopped to pick something up) and her office are both close to the restaurant I wanted to try.  We’ve never been able to do that sort of thing before — in DC, Southern Honey needed at least an hour to get into town.

So chalk one up to small town life over the big city there.

Our neighbors are also turning out to be quite nice.  While we were gone last weekend, one stopped by to introduce himself and offered to mow our lawn.  I called him back Monday evening and we worked out that he would come by last night and give it a first mow (it was a JUNGLE) for the same amount he used to charge the former owners.  Actually, he offered to do it for free when I told him we had a mower coming but were waiting on, but it was such a big job, I told him we’d pay him anyway.

Naturally, then, the guy who had previously stopped by to mow (his part-time job) came back yesterday.  Mowed it for the same price, broke out the weed eater and used a leaf blower to clear off the walk, the patio and the deck.

So we had to call the neighbor back.  He and his wife are going to stop by tonight and introduce themselves.  They have a four-year-old daughter, and I hope they bring her by, too.  Kids are so cute, and I baked cupcakes.  Can’t have those going to waste!

I’ve never known our neighbors before.  It’s a very cool feeling.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

