NaNoWriMo


National Novel Writing Month, here I come!

After years and years of starting things and never finishing them, I’ve decided to take the plunge and give writing 50,000 words in thirty days a try.  Hopefully I can transform the ideas in my head and the rough outline I have on paper into something solid.  Something complete and precious and real.

I have a lot of work to do in preparation, I think.  I want to have a more complete outline finished.  I would also like to get character sheets done, filling in the details of their lives so I don’t have to compose them on the fly.  Finally, I have a new world to create, from the geography to the government.  Maybe creating these will help me move beyond casual writing at last.

I’m aiming for 2500 words a day so I can take Thanksgiving off, at least.  That’s a lot of writing.  Just a little bit over twenty times what I’ve done so far right here.  It doesn’t leave a lot of room for days or nights when I might be feeling uninspired.

That’s what the preparation is for, though.  To help me get past days when I feel uninspired and stuck.  If I know where I’m going, I should be able to work out how to get there eventually.

I am also looking into a different program than Word to write it in.  I had two separate ones recommended today that I’m going to look into.  One is yWriter, but I’ve forgotten what the other one is.  I’ll have to go back to the forum and check the NaNo thread to find it.

The month is going to be a challenge, for certain.  The plan looks to be taking the laptop to work each day to write over lunch time, then lug it back home to finish the day’s word count after dinner.  I might have to lock myself away in one of the spare bedrooms or something to do it, but if I can pull it off, it will be worth it.

I haven’t finished a single story I have started in several years.  And the one that I did finish I had to rewrite to give it the ending I wanted when I started.  (I wanted it to be tragic, but it came out as a redemption story the first time.  The rewrite had the sad ending I initially wanted.)  This is my chance to do something I’ve wanted to do for pretty much my entire life.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo

  1. NaNoWriMo is a challenge, but worth it. It’s also a lot of fun. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

