Thursday Night Mashup


I was planning on posting something interesting, but I got distracted and forgot what it was.  Guess life just isn’t that interesting today.

Apparently today was “casual Thursday,” but nobody sent me the memo.  I’m not really upset about it, but it would have been nice to dress down more.  I enjoy taking advantage of it whenever I get the chance.  So tomorrow, I’m celebrating Friday with jeans.  We couldn’t do that at the big office, which was a waste.

Got a fun new assignment this morning at work.  The new position is definitely shaping up to be far better than the previous one.  I get to make a difference in the world, or to at least feel as though I do, and that’s a powerful motivating force.  I love the way I feel when I get a new assignment and start to pull it together; I very rarely got that sensation before.

On top of that, I’m hoping to get cracking on my outline and character sheets started tomorrow at lunch.  I think I’m going to tackle it much the way I did my project today: use index cards to sketch out events or individuals and link them visually so I have something to go by.  Link charts are the bomb!

A lot of people on one of the forums I frequent are writing in November, so I have a ton of writing buddies and lots of support.  That’s good, because I’m going to need it, I suspect.  It will hopefully keep me from backing out unless a major issue comes up at work.We’re looking into replacing our bed sometime within the next year or so.  The one we have now was a gift from a coworker of mine at the old office, and it’s nice, but it’s something like eleven years old, and it doesn’t match our style.  I like it a lot (it’s a cute sleigh bed style), but we’re looking for a platform bed in a nice dark finish to go with the dresser we bought for Southern Honey.

He found a few examples today online that we’re going to keep in mind.  They all have storage under the bed and a little in the headboard, which is great.  One can never have too much storage space, right?And in weather news, it’s pouring down rain again.  There’s something indescribably wonderful about the sound of rain falling on the roof you own.  It’s homey and welcoming and simply fantastic in a way that I never thought I would be experiencing at this point in my life.  It just makes me happy all around.Oh, and the new Windows 7 commercials with the little girl and the hilarious slide shows?  Those are my new favorite commercials ever.  Especially the one with “The Final Countdown” playing.  I don’t know why that is better than the theme from “The A Team,” but it is.  Kittens and unicorns and My Little Ponies plus “The Final Countdown” just makes my night every time I see it.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

