Wonderful Weekends


Why are weekends never long enough?  Every time the weekend rolls around, it seems as though we spend more time on the run than we do relaxing and resting up for the next week.

This weekend was a good one, despite that. On Friday, Mom adopted a cat to keep her company, and the little thing is a total sweetheart.   Southern Honey and I went to Racerville to visit Southern Brother and meet his friends.  When we got back to Topper Town today, we went to the Humane Society and found an orange bundle of energy and joy: Pumpkin.

Being in Racerville was almost like a step back in time to when Southern Honey and I were still in school and hanging out with our own friends.  It’s a time of my life that I miss a lot.  I feel as though I’ll never make friends as close as the ones I had then — my friends from high school were close, and we still are close, but there’s just something about the people you meet in college that transcends that.

I don’t make friends easily, so I particularly miss the people I became closest with.   I miss the times we spent just watching Fox’s Sunday night line up of cartoons, followed by Adult Swim.  I miss going to the river to shoot and swim.  I miss having parties.  I miss going to football games.

Didn’t mean to go all maudlin there… Sorry.

On a happy note, here’s a picture of Pumpkin, soon to be renamed to Tesla or something else (depends on if it turns out Pumpkin is a he or a she):

Orange and white cuteness incarnate

Orange and white cuteness incarnate

We’re going back tomorrow to try to find a playmate for Pumpkin. Pumpkin has way too much spirit to hang out alone all the time. If all goes well, we’ll be bringing two kittehs home on Thursday, freshly spayed/neutered and microchipped.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

