Writing Plans


I think the cat is out of the bag about the blog now.  I plugged it at work, not intentionally, but the deed is done.  I feel like such a whore for it.  But I guess that’s what happens when you get talking about strawberry jam and vampires, and your brain goes off into the gutter — it leads to this (warning: that is totally not safe for work or small children!).

It certainly wasn’t what I intended.

In an effort to get more on track for NaNoWriMo in two weeks (yikes, coming down to the wire!!), I’m working on outlining some scenes for my novel on index cards.  That way I can shuffle them around as needed or desired and write from that.

As I was working on a scene earlier, I realized I needed to change it up; what I wanted to depict didn’t fit in with the world I was crafting.  So, I’m back to the drawing board a bit on that.  It’s not easy to reconcile a society with a massive nomadic population with a society that has made major technological innovations.  I may have them trade for the technology rather than have it be native.  At the least, it would have to originate from the cities rather than the nomads.

I really wish I had written more down in the aftermath of the dream that led me to this plot.  I had a decent start for it, one that made sense, but I never got it on paper, so it has mostly dissolved.  Now I have to rework it and make it plausible.

There is also the difficulty of creating a world where a representative government is actually controlled from within by a small group.  Decisions have to make sense from the outside as well as the inside.  The amount of spin control required to make these decisions seem believable to the people is serious.  This is going to be … interesting, to say the least.

I think I’ve set myself a serious task with all this.  I’m not sure it’s one I can accomplish, but I want to try.  Doesn’t help that we have stuff to do on three weekends next month: one baby shower, one weekend visitor, and Thanksgiving.  That means lots of writing at lunches and in the evenings.  I’m going to need to crank out 2000-3000 words a day to pull it off.

That’s a lot of words.

Also, I think I finally picked a new name for Pumpkin.  We’re going to call her Embra.  She’s a bit more fiesty than that, but the color of an ember fits her so well that I couldn’t pass that one up.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

