Happy Almost-Friday


Today was a really good day at work.  I don’t remember the last time I said that at my old office, yet I’ve said it about this job several times in the last month and a half.  That’s a step or three in the right direction, I think.

I got to sit in on a discussion on Pakistan and Islamic extremism.  A lot of the broad strokes were a reiteration of college classes, but the speaker brought a different perspective on things as a former resident of Pakistan and current resident of the US.  The speaker also went a bit in-depth on Salafism and Salafi-Takfirism, which I had never had anyone explain before.  Extremely informative.

In addition, I met several individuals who do similar jobs to mine and exchanged contact information with them.  That’s definite positive motion right there.

I am making progress on a couple of other projects I have rolling at work.  It’s quite common to have multiple projects going at once, but I have more than just about anyone else because I have to touch on each of theirs in one way or another.  One is heating up, and I had the opportunity to participate in a brainstorming session for it.  I’ve never been involved in something like this, so it was a fun experience.  Educational, too.

Tomorrow I have lunch with Southern Mama — we’re meeting at her office, eating there, and then checking out a new cupcake shop on the Square.  One of the guys in the office talks about it all the time, and his wife recommended it.  I’m practically drooling at the thought.  *grins*

On top of that, I think we’ve figured out what we’re doing for Thanksgiving.  I’ve been pondering it for a while now and just had a doable solution present itself today.  Once upon a time, we went to my dad’s family’s house early on turkey day, then went to my mom’s family’s house.  Then my parents split, and it got totally screwed up.

This year, I’d love to go see my dad’s family, but it would tear my mom up.  So, as many people as want to are coming to us: Southern Honey’s sister and her husband, his mom, Southern Mama, Southern Brother and his girlfriend, plus any extended family who want to tag along.  Hopefully there will come a time when I can take a day off work and we can go to dad’s, then have everyone here, or just switch off years.  But for this year, this will have to do.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

