Trick or Treat, Smell My Feet…


That’s right, everyone,  it’s that time of year again.  Sugar-rushing children, cheesy costumes, women running around in practically no clothes, parents unhappy about the fact that it’s raining.  Yes, folks, I give you… Halloween!

I said once before that this is my favorite holiday of the year, and that’s quite true.  I get to play dress up and pretend to be someone else.  Tonight I’m going to be Violette the pirate wench, accompanied by the Punisher.  I know, those don’t really go together, but since the Punisher is a widower or whatever, there’s not really a female figure to go with him anyway.  So I broke out the pirate wench trappings and bought a new corset.

Pretty soon I am going to  have to get up and get a shower.  We might get trick-or-treaters or we might not, but I want to be prepared if we do and have some candy and be in costume.  We’ve never had trick-or-treaters; I want to do it right.  Perhaps I’m a perfectionist.

Then tonight we’re going to go out to one of the clubs in town and have a good time.  We haven’t gone out like that in ages.  In fact, the last time we went out dancing together like that, we still lived in UniTown.  It was probably our fourth anniversary, so that was a while back.  There is a costume contest at the club, and I suspect that Southern Honey has a pretty good shot at winning — his costumes are always incredible.

Best of all, the clocks turn back tonight, so we can either stay out an extra hour or stay out the same amount of time and get more sleep.  And the club has drink specials for that extra hour.  *grins*

The extra hour of sleep would be fantastic to me — National Novel Writing Month kicks off at midnight, and I’ve got a lot of work to do there.  I need to knock out at least three thousand words tomorrow to sort of compensate for the time I’m going to have to devote to Thanksgiving, a friend’s visit the weekend before, and a trip to Louisville for training.

So, for those starting a novel tomorrow, good luck!  And for the  rest of you, happy hauntings!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

