Thank You, Toppertown


Tonight, in an effort to write a non-writing-related post, I thought I would reflect a bit on how life is shaping up here in NewTown.

First, let’s give NewTown a name.  I think I’ll call it Toppertown. I like the alliteration.   Sounds good enough for now.

So, life in Toppertown is a great departure from life in our nation’s illustrious capital.  I haven’t been almost run over in months, and Black Friday, while busy, was surprisingly less than insane.  I don’t recall getting elbowed or cursed at a single time.  Although that might have had more to do with not going out until later afternoon than anything else.

There was something very comforting about being back home for Thanksgiving.  The stores were crowded, but it was a much smaller crowd than in Virginia.  I probably didn’t get as good a deal on some things as I might have if I had been able to shop Giant and Shoppers and Safeway, but I wouldn’t have needed to cook for twelve because no one else would have been joining us.

So there were trade-offs, but the things we traded away were very much worth the things we traded for.  In fact, I would say that we got the better end of the bargain by far.

I know that lots of people would think that I’m absolutely insane for trading away life in the big city for a place like Toppertown, where it seems to many as though nothing ever happens.  But I don’t think either Southern Honey or I were made for always living in the heart of a metropolis.  We have too great a love of space and privacy to be comfortable living crammed together with everyone else.

In Toppertown, we’ve been able to put ourselves well down a path we’ve been discussing for years: starting a family of our own.  We were able to buy a house out in the country, and I don’t know that it would have ever been feasible for us to do that with me working in DC.  The commute would have been too long for us to have any meaningful time together as a family, and for our future children?  I think it would have been untenable.

All that aside, while there might be less going on here in Toppertown than there would be in DC this time of  year, there’s less fuss and less chaos.  It’s easier to get from Point A to Point B most of the time, and I can measure distances in miles again rather than in minutes or hours.

My boss isn’t insane.  My work has meaning.  I feel useful.

As a result, my stress level has dropped so far as to be a completely different ballgame altogether.  Back in Virginia, I lost my temper with Southern Honey on a ridiculously regular basis.  Here, it’s barely happened at all and not the same way as it did before.  I think, as a result, that we’re both far happier.  It’s a relief not to get into a snit or an argument every time you turn around.  And I think I can directly thank the move and Toppertown for that.

So, thank you, Toppertown, for helping me get back to myself and my husband.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

