Excellent Substitute for a Snow Day


While I won’t say that today was the best day I’ve ever had at work, it really was up there in terms of doing something interesting and something that gave me hands-on experience I never would have had the chance to gain in DC.  I learned a lot about the legal process and about  federal/state/local cases.  At this point in my career, I have this crazy amount of theoretical knowledge, but now I have a better understanding of how it works in the real world.

It was definitely worth dragging myself out of bed at four in the morning and going out in lousy weather.

I’ve also requested to attend a good deal of training this year.  There’s a lot to learn in this job — I don’t really think the learning ever stops, honestly — and I want to get as much under my belt as I can as soon as possible.  That’s the only way I’m going to become more useful.  Plus it helps with the promotion thing, and that’s not exactly a bad thing.  I want to prove that I’m here to stay and that I can be an asset so that when we start a family, they know that I’m committed to coming back.

Now I need to drag my sorry butt to the kitchen and grab some food.  This has not exactly been the day for regular meals.  I’m thinking cereal sounds incredibly tasty right about now.  Honey nut Cheerios with a side of justice, please!  *grins*

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

