Long Weekend, Long Overdue


The three-day weekend while in full possession of Southern Honey is progressing just fine so far.  Aside from his shift tonight being extended from six hours to eight, he hasn’t been called in to work any other days yet.  This will be the first weekend we’ll both have entirely free since before Thanksgiving, I do believe.

Tomorrow I think I’m … not going to fix him pancakes because I had forgotten about the fact that I haven’t bought any syrup.  Crap.  Nor can I fix any bacon because I haven’t bought any of that, either.  I guess it’ll be monkey bread, then, since I know he likes that. Then we’ll be free to do whatever we want for the rest of the day.  I’m not sure yet what that will entail, but the weather is supposed to be nice, so maybe we’ll go to a park or something.  Maybe go out dancing tomorrow night — he really wasn’t feeling up to it on New Year’s.

Sunday we have a triple date with one of his supervisors, her husband, and another couple.  That should be interesting because I don’t remember the last time we met new people.  We’ve been a bit remiss in getting out and doing much of anything besides spending time together.  It would be nice to meet people who might become friends.

That’s been the one downside of being in such a small office — it’s a much more limited pool of individuals in which to find someone who might become a friend outside work.  And the age difference is even greater than it was at my old office, even when I first started.  I’m the youngest person there by at least thirteen years.  That’s not a much greater age difference than with Wonder Mom, but I’m not sensing any chance of developing anything remotely resembling a friendship with Kay here.  She’s entirely too likely to take something I might say out of context and find a way to use it against me.  Plus she’s potentially toxic.  So, with that pool fairly well closed off, I have to look elsewhere for friends, and I simply haven’t been doing it.

Maybe this weekend will change that, though.  Hopefully I’ll just get to enjoy spending time with my husband while neither of us is on the clock.  *sighs*  A girl can dream, right?

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

