Child’s TV or Drinking Game?


I must say that this weekend was every bit as fantastic as I thought it would be, getting trounced at laser tag by small children notwithstanding.  That was only one game of the three we played, fortunately.  Southern Honey completely swept the board on the second and third games.  We got sniper positions during the second game, since one of us has tactical sense (and it’s not me, in case you’re curious), and we just decimated everyone.  It was a ton of fun.

All that said, I have to throw out a recommendation for the best kids’ show ever.  That’s right, better than Dora or Sesame Street or Barney or Mister Rogers (who was, in my opinion, the creepiest old man on the face of the planet).  It’s this most excellent master work of education and humor created in Canada entitled “Tumbletown Tales.”

This show may be the best thing ever exported by Canada.  How can you resist live-action rodents — rabbits, gerbils, guinea pigs, and a chinchilla — combined with toy cars, boats, helicopters, and houses?  I mean, honestly, it’s just not possible to say no to a character that says nothing but “Chinchilla!!!”  Or a gerbil whose lines might go “I’m going to apply for this job.  Oooh, a seed!  This is the best day ever!”  Or a rabbit who encourages the gerbil to buy a helicopter to set up public transportation around Tumbletown by saying, in this mafia voice, “It’s a good idea.  Doooo it.”

We first watched this show back in college, late one night while we were over at a friend’s house drinking.  I mean, isn’t that how all favorite kids’ shows are born?  We came across it after we’d finished all our planned activities and were just hanging out, channel surfing.  I don’t remember the last time I had laughed as hard as we all did that night.

Sadly for all of us, as far as I can tell, the only way to get “Tumbletown Tales” in the United States is to order it from Canada.  As it is popular with teachers, it retails for over $100.  I’m not sure about anyone else, but I haven’t got that kind of cash on hand to spare for kids’ television when I don’t even have munchkins yet.  Especially when we’d just be tempted to sit around playing drinking games to it.  (Take a drink every time you hear “Chinchilla!”  Drink for every seed the gerbil eats while he’s crawling all over the town.  Chug if there’s a helicopter or boat.)  That can’t be healthy.  *grins*

So, for those of you out there who love animals and educational television that does not include purple dinosaurs or annoying theme songs or creepy proto-pedos (I’m talking about you, Mr. Rogers!), look into “Tumbletown Tales.”  Google it and see if you can find a clip.  I promise you will love it.  Unless you hate America.

I kid!  :~D

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Child’s TV or Drinking Game?

  1. Jonathan says:

    *sigh* Those goofy Canadians….

  2. southernsugar says:

    Oh yes. Maple syrup, bottled water, and “Tumbletown Tales” — what’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

