Sleep Deprivation


I have decided that I am not a fan of emergency rooms.  We spent six and a half hours in one last night, and it’s not an experience I’d care to repeat, especially since I had to turn around and go to work on a minimal amount of sleep this morning.

All is well in the Southern world, though.  Southern Honey’s apparent allergic reaction is under control.  He no longer looks as though he might scare small children while out and about.  And he’s not itching like crazy anymore.  Still no idea what set him off, but we know what to do now to hopefully figure it out.

I have a lot to be thankful for, despite the long night.  I just wish it hadn’t taken some really unfortunate events in a friend’s life to remind me.

I’m sitting here, next to Southern Honey, just watching television and the cats.  I think the cats are more entertaining than the show.  They like to run around like made, just chasing each other over the furniture and having a good old time.  Even when they fight, it’s play-fighting, not true fighting, at least most of the time.  And when all is said and done, and they get tired, they snuggle up together and sleep.

Southern Honey is feeling better for right at the moment.  And he’s mostly content living down here.  It’s the opposite of college: he’s the one making friends and dragging me along to have a good time.  It’s an interesting feeling.

Okay, this is rambling like mad.  I clearly need sleep.

But I have a lot to think about.  I need to work on keeping in touch with my friends so that the next time I don’t feel like I’m so far out of the loop when lousy things happen.  Plus I can be there for them.  That’s the big thing for me.  I feel like I let her down a little bit because I was so far behind.  That is a shitty feeling.

I swear the rambling is now done.  Bed beckons, and I still have to put the sheets and stuff back on.  Tomorrow or Sunday I promise a lighthearted cat picture post to make up for the sleep-deprived depression tonight.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

