Who Dat?!


Well, this has been a Super Bowl filled with ups and downs: touchdowns, interceptions, stand ups on the goal line, and an onside kick.

Especially that onside kick.  That, I think, is what won this game for the Saints.  The onside kick at the start of the second half was absolute genius.

In the second half, it also seemed like the Colts’ defense couldn’t make a stop.  And then Payton threw that interception, which killed all the momentum that the Colts’ offense had managed to muster.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is the extent of my game summary.  Now I’d like to take a few moments to look at the real reason millions of people watch the Super Bowl: the commercials.

Likes

  • The Betty White Snickers ad.  The idea of someone tackling the hell out of Betty White is totally shocking and hysterical.  It totally worked for me.
  • All of the Budweiser commercials except the book club one.  The astronomers/end of the world commercial was fantastic.  And I love the Clydesdales.
  • Monster.com’s fiddling beaver.  I mean violinist beaver.  Whatever.  It was a beaver with a violin sawing away for all it was worth.
  • Barney Stinson and the errant phone number.  If you haven’t dialed it, it’s 877-987-6401.  Toll free and funny.
  • Most of the Doritos commercials.

Dislikes

  • The Doritos commercial where the little kid bitchslaps his mom’s date for having a chip.  Nobody’s kid gets to bitchslap me and get away with it.  If I were a guy, he wouldn’t have to worry about me touching his mom because I wouldn’t be going on a date with someone who raises a little terror like that.
  • Audi’s green police commercial.  I hate feeling preached at, and I hate smug self-righteousness.  That commercial managed to cram so much of both into thirty seconds that I thought I was going to vomit.  Plus, how is it green to pour out a bunch of water because it’s in plastic bottles?  How green is it to set up giant roadblocks that would invariably result in miles of idling cars?  Kiss my ass, Audi.  I’m in the market for a new car, but I can tell you it definitely won’t be one of yours.
  • The Letterman, Oprah, Leno commercial.  I got where they were going with it, but it just wasn’t funny.
  • Ugh, the Boost shuffle.  How many times are people going to take what was, the first time around, an amusing, interesting concept and remake it into something even more tired and stale?

There were probably some others, but I missed most of the second quarter in the kitchen making onion rings.  Next time, I’m going the baked route rather than deep-fried.

Congrats to the city of New Orleans!  Your first Super Bowl.  I hope you’re all having a great time celebrating tonight!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

