Knit Wit


I decided yesterday to embark on a new craft project.  At lunch today, I went over to Hobby Lobby and availed myself of their wares.

I’m now the proud owner of a ball of white yarn and some massive purple knitting needles.

Yeah, cause I need a new project like I need another hole in the head.  And one as time-consuming as knitting is just asking for trouble.  Yet I’m doing it anyway.

I think I’m nesting, which is one of those things that should only happen when one is pregnant and therefore has a reason to be making a nest.  *rolls eyes*  Apparently for me it just happens when one moves into a new house and is in need of projects to occupy one’s time.  I also picked up a book on decorating with color because I have a strong, strong desire to paint something in the house.

Painting interior walls, however, is expensive and requires moving furniture around.  Knitting requires funny needles and a bunch of yarn.  In terms of expense, that’s a no-brainer.  Hence my purchase today.  I do wish, though, that I hadn’t gotten lazy and had wound the whole skein into a ball.  Oh well.  I’m sure there’s enough on there for a potholder.

I’m also very certain that I’m going to spend the weekend fighting the cats for both the needles and the yarn.  I’m not sure what the appeal is of two aluminum rods, but Prometheus seems to think they’re the best things ever.  Why, kitties, why?!?

Being my normal, nerdy self, I tried to check out books on knitting yesterday from the library.  Apparently the universe is working against me, though, because every beginner’s book, including The Idiot’s Guide to Knitting and Knitting for Dummies, was checked out.  I must not be the only one nesting this winter.  *grins*

Instead of reading my way through it, I’m using a site someone recommended to me: Knitting Help Now I can check out videos rather than puzzle my way through really awkward illustrations of how to do a stitch or cast on.  Maybe it will even work (I mean, I did manage to get a ball of yarn that unwinds from the inside after watching).

Or maybe in two weeks I’ll be back here talking about how as my birthday present to myself, I’m painting the living room.

I guess we’ll see.

Courtesy of Southern Honey’s work hours this weekend, we’ll be celebrating Valentine’s Day early.  What does one do for the big VDay in a place like TopperTown?  Well you might ask, because the answer is an interesting one.

You see, we’re doing our taxes tomorrow afternoon.  I consider our tax refund to be a damned nice Valentines present, personally.  Then we’ll go out to dinner somewhere, maybe one of the Japanese hibachi restaurants (we had a great time at one a couple of years ago) or maybe a local place.  Then it will be home to bed so Southern Honey can make the test for the police department Saturday morning.  Work Saturday night.  A bit of breakfast in bed Sunday morning, then back to work Sunday afternoon.  Then perhaps some mattress shopping on Monday.

In the meantime, plenty of time for me to learn how to knit!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

