Dear Nintendo


In the beginning I was faithful to you and you alone.  I had my original Nintendo, complete with the running pad for your track game and massive red gun for annihilating ducks (and wanting to shoot that annoying cackling dog).  Eventually I moved on to the Super Nintendo and its increased graphics capabilities that allowed me to play games involving my favorite characters, most notably the Teenaged Mutant Ninja Turtles.  Then came the N64 and my first Zelda game: Ocarina of Time.  I fell in love yet again.

But life intervened.  I went to college and had to leave the N64 behind, as it for some reason belonged to my little brother (no, I’m not still bitter about that, what would make you think that?).  I met and fell in love with a man who owned a PS2.  I spent all my money on a cell phone so I could call said man, so when the GameCube came out, I was too broke to buy one.  I finally got a PS2 of my own almost three years ago and jumped on that bandwagon.  Our most recent game console debate was “XBox or PS3” because most of the games Southern Honey wants to play aren’t available for the Wii.

Then, at Christmas, I had an epiphany.  Our niece (okay, Southern Honey’s best friend’s older daughter) got a Nintendo DS as one of her presents.  While the boys sat in the living room playing Magic the Gathering and his wife nursed their newborn in another room, I picked it up and started to play.

After kicking some major MarioKart ass, I was enchanted.  And I woke up Saturday morning to unwrap a DS of my own, along with a copy of “The Legend of Zelda: The Phantom Hourglass,” which has occupied nearly every waking hour of my day since.

Nintendo, I’m officially here to tell you that I’m back, and I have missed you.  Even more, I have missed Link and Zelda like you would not believe.  I’m not a huge fan of the graphics by comparison to “Ocarina” — it’s a bit childish — but I adore it nonetheless.  It has consumed my soul, and I have allowed it, wholeheartedly and without reservation.

Sincerely,

Southern Sugar

PS: Southern Honey wants to thank you for teaming up with Cartoon Network to create and carry such games as “Johnny Bravo in The Hukka Mega Mighty Ultra Extreme Date-O-Rama!” which he bought for himself, since Zelda isn’t really up his alley.  We would also like to put forth our idea for a Smurf racing game.  I mean, y’all have already done an M&M game, and the green M&M is basically the Smurfette of the M&M universe, so why not take that next step and give the little blue buggers their own game?  Viva la 80s!

And no, Nintendo did not pay me to write this, except in hours of expensive but completely worthwhile fandom.  Southern Honey bought the system and games out of his own pocket at no urging but an off-hand comment of my own back at Christmas.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

