Project Day


Well, we finally bought a new comforter set today.  It ended up being a bed in a bag set from KMart that was on sale: Mercer.

The sheets are ridiculously cheap quality, but I’m all right with that because we’re going to get a set of Better Homes and Gardens from WalMart in an awesome teal color to add some pop to the room.  That’s our compromise — I didn’t care for the comforter set too much, but Southern Honey liked it, so I got to choose some alternative sheets.

I also did some landscaping research today.  We’re getting trees from the Arbor Day Foundation this year, so I’m trying to figure out what to do with them all, as well as what to do with the rest of the yard (I love having the leeway to do what I want outside!).  My main concentration is going to be the border along the front of the house, which I want to do in shades of purple and white: ‘Crystal White’ narrow leaf zinnias flowing into purple pansies into a mix of purple and ‘Album’ (white) Japanese roof iris into summer snapdragons into white garden phlox.  And all of it interspersed with thyme and sedge.  That should give a gradual rise in height from the driveway to the end of the house.

We’re getting redbud trees and flowering dogwoods that I think we’re going to use to line the driveway.  Oh, and the random shrubs that are currently lining the front of the house (sort of) are going to be moved to sit between the trees.  Or maybe just toss them because I’m not even sure they’re alive and use roses instead.  At the end of the driveway by the road, I think we’re going to put in some creeping raspberry to act as a frame where the hill slopes into the ditch.

There are going to be peonies somewhere, but they have to be away from the house so we don’t draw ants in. I adore peonies — we had them when I was growing up. They just make a house a home to me for some reason.

Pictures forthcoming, hopefully, provided that tomorrow is sunny like today was.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

