To Insure or Not to Insure… To Garden or Not to Garden…


I’m not sure how I feel about the recently passed and just signed health care reform legislation, and I’m not terribly familiar with it, so I don’t think I’m going to comment on it.

The hoopla around it, though, is another story altogether.  Was there any need to yell anything on the floor of Congress?  I don’t think so, but apparently Randy Neugebauer disagrees, since he felt compelled to yell something that included “Baby killer!” while Bart Stupak was making a speech during debate over the bill.  What happened to respect for the institution, even if members of Congress don’t have respect for each other?

I also find it interesting that the Attorneys General of no fewer than ten states plan to file suit claiming the legislation to be unconstitutional.  When I had no health care, the state I lived in wasn’t about to step up and help me pay for doctor’s visits.  I went for four months with a recurring sinus infection until I got a job that included insurance in its benefit package.  So now states want to step in and say that someone else can’t mandate the coverage that many of them aren’t willing to provide?  I find that interesting and more than a little eye roll-worthy.

All that said, I’m really not here to get political, so I’ll say no more about it.  I get inundated enough with Facebook statuses pontificating this side over that, and I don’t want that negative, annoying attitude to bleed over into this space.

In less controversial news, I’m two days into my first week of making a menu, shopping for it and only it and sticking to said menu.  So far, so good.  Monday night was ham, green beans and cheddar broccoli rice.  Tonight was bean and ham soup and cornbread.  I’ve got a chicken thawing in the sink for chicken noodle soup tomorrow that will do double-duty for chicken tacos, Spanish rice and refried beans (also known as leftover bean soup).  Friday is a bit of a free-for-all since I’m doing meatless Fridays for Lent but Southern Honey isn’t — I’ll probably have meatless spaghetti.

I’m not sure what next week’s menu is going to be or what we’ll have over the weekend — well, actually, I’m going to be out of town most of the weekend and Southern Honey works for a hefty chunk of it, so the weekend isn’t a big deal.  I hope to use some cooking blogs for inspiration (like Citrus Marinated Grilled Chicken) and see what produce is available in the grocery stores.  It’s harder since Southern Honey is decidedly anti-veggie, so I have to work harder.  *makes mental note to pick up a bag of potatoes for baking and turning into fries*

I have also considered getting into a … what are they called?  A co-op?  Where you get seasonal, locally grown produce delivered each week for a set price.  I know that there is one or maybe two in the area, I’m just not sure if it would be worthwhile for us.  I suspect I’d be freezing a lot of stuff!  The bulk might be too much to be cost-effective for just the two of us.

Maybe instead I’ll just plant a little veggie patch over beyond the storage building.  Then I can just grow what I want — asparagus, tomatoes, green peppers, cucumbers and maybe some spicy peppers.  Then I could make my own salsa and spaghetti sauce like my mom used to do.  But perhaps that would be better-served to hold off on until next year…

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Insure or Not to Insure… To Garden or Not to Garden…

  1. Mary says:

    I know you don’t want to get political, but my local newspaper ran an AP article that I thought did a pretty good job of summing up what exactly this health care bill is, what the pieces are, and when they’ll go into effect: Health overhaul: Immediate change, long term steps

    In other news, I do more or less what you do with dinners and shopping. We tend to buy meat whenever it goes on sale, and then freeze it, so most of the time we’re only buying what we need to make side dishes. But seriously, the only way we can keep our grocery bill reasonable (and our eating out under control) is to plan 5 meals for the week, shop for those 5 meals, and cook all 5 meals.

    We tend not to assign them days, though, because we don’t do much in the way of “planned overs,” and it’s nice to be able to decide which of our options we’re in the mood for. Weekends we usually fend for ourselves, since Saturday is our “eat dinner out” day, and Sunday is the day we usually go to the store (so it’s often the best day to cook something special, and we don’t decide until that day what it will be).

    And for the co-op deal, you might be able to purchase a certain fraction of a “lot” (or something). I’ve never bought into any of those, but a lot of them sell different quantities. If you’re interested, it would probably be worth finding one that sounds good and asking them about their pricing.

Leave a Reply

