Weekend Update


This was quite the busy weekend.

Yesterday I rolled out of bed, got dressed and hit the road for bridesmaid dress shopping near the old stomping grounds.  I had lunch with my friend, the bride, and her husband, then just hung out for a while before hitting up David’s Bridal.  That place was packed — prom season is coming up, in addition to the normal wedding crowds, so there were a lot of teenagers having a good time and trying to find dresses.

Amazingly, the dress my friend picked out fit each of the three of us who made it very well, despite the fact that we all have very different body shapes.  I think it was a really good choice, even though I’m going to have to get some extra cups sewn in or something to get the bust to fit perfectly (had to fit my butt first).  I’m pleased with the selection — F13172 in cornflower, which is quite a bit duskier than it looks on the computer screen.  Now I just have to find some silver shoes…

After David’s, we headed to a local sports bar to watch the UK game and have dinner.  That was painful (the game, not the meal), but at least the company was good.  Then it was back to my friend’s place, where we all hung out until about midnight, just chatting and goofing around

This morning I headed home, with a pit stop to see my dad for lunch.  That really turned into spending a pretty hefty portion of the afternoon with him, his girlfriend and one of her granddaughters, fighting off the loving advances of a Siberian husky pup.  She’s a sweet thing, but she needs obedience school yesterday.  My hand looks…bizarre where she was using it as a chew-toy.

I finally made it home about 5:30, took a shower and got dinner.  Now I’m debating how long I want to wait before I collapse into bed.  Southern Honey won’t be home for another six or eight hours, so I’m on my own with the cats, who are cheerfully cuddled up on the couch with me.  I think they’ve forgiven me for coming home smelling of canine…

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Update

  1. Mary says:

    That’s a nice dress! Wouldn’t you be able to just have the bust taken in a bit? Since it’s strapless, I can’t imagine that would cost more than having cups sewn in, and it might be more comfortable. Although, I suppose getting cups sewn in would eliminate the need for a bra.

    Sounds like the rest of your weekend was fun, even if the game was painful. 🙂

    • southernsugar says:

      I thought taking it in would be cheaper, too, but the woman who was helping us said the cups were cheaper. I’ll ultimately decide in May when the dress actually comes in and I can speak directly with their seamstress. It was so nuts in there on Saturday that I didn’t want to push it. I should also have a strapless bra by then, which might make a difference.

      Oh, the game… 😛 You’re right, though, everything else was fun! 😀

Leave a Reply

