Things that go bump in the night


I have a new novel idea bubbling around in my brain right at the moment.  One that’s going to require a hefty amount of research so I can get it right.  In the afterglow of the Twilight phenomenon, I found myself yearning for a vampire story that remembered the days when vampires were the bad guys, not the sparkly guys you lusted after and eventually had babies with (also, there’s a giant WTF right there).  But am I going to get it?  Apparently only if I write it myself, lol!

Don’t get me wrong — I love Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse, early Anita Blake (by Laurell K Hamilton), Jim Butcher’s courts and a few others, and they’re great reads, but the vamps tend toward the recent, revisionist version that everyone just wants to sleep with.  I read them pretty much religiously because they’re well-written and entertaining.

So, I’m going back to the basics: Bram Stoker’s Dracula, the Lilith mythos, Vlad the Impaler, Nosferatu.  The scary stuff, the creatures of the night who leave you worrying that instead of dying, you’ll find yourself waking back up in a few days.  I’ve got an annotated copy of Dracula on the TV tray right now and a couple of books on order from Thriftbooks.  The next few months are going to be fun, doing a lot of reading and plotting for this year’s NaNoWriMo.

Best of all, it’s supposed to be 80 degrees tomorrow, so I’m going to the park for reading time in the sun.  That seems safer than reading such things in the dark.  *grins*

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

