Small Town Humor


You know, I had been on a roll for witticisms on a forum I hang around the past couple of days.  If I could write like that all the time, I would quit my job and make my living from my quirky sense of humor and honed wit.

Unfortunately, I don’t write like that all the time (see the readership of this blog — if I were funnier, surely more people would want to read what I have to say, right?).  And so I am doomed to live a life of obscurity here in Topper Town with Southern Honey.   ‘Tis sad.

Now, I’ll be the first to admit that from the outside, Topper Town is not the first place that many people would choose to make their home.  It’s not as flashy as many cities.  It lacks the polish of a New York or a Paris, the thrill of a Las Vegas or an Amsterdam, the scenery of a Florence or an Istanbul, the exotic pull of a Beijing or a Jakarta.

Despite all that, it’s hardly a bad place to live, much less a horrid place to be escaped at the first instant possible.  It’s the place we’ve chosen to make our home.

And if that seemed totally random, you can thank the cashier at Barnes & Noble who can’t wait to escape for the sunny coast of California again, apparently.  It just got me thinking.  I’m fairly certain that complaining about your customers’ home city is not the best way to win hearts and influence people into returning to your store, but perhaps that’s just me.  And I’ll be back since we no longer have a Borders (lame).  But it was something of a turnoff at the end of an otherwise pleasant visit to the bookstore.

Also, it was distinctly unfunny.  Not to mention delivered with an utter lack of wit.  Which brings me full circle.  With material like this, how funny can I be?!  😀

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

