Date Night… Or Not


Last night was supposed to be Date Night.  We haven’t had a real, honest-to-goodness Date Night in… Let’s just say it’s been a while.

Southern Honey got up at his normal, undogly hour and hoofed it out of the house.  I dozed back off, smacked my phone alarm around a few times and finally dragged myself out of bed in time to be running late after my shower (what, I had to shave my legs!  It was Date Night!).  But then, by the time I was dressed and getting ready to dry my hair, I heard keys in the door and footsteps.

It turned out that Southern Honey’s schedule at work got changed just about the time he walked out the door on Wednesday and no one thought to mention it to him.  Instead of working Friday morning, he got shifted to work Friday night.  Effectively screwing Date Night out of existence.  Awesome.  *rolls eyes*

That left me to spend some time at the local B&N reading the most recent JD Robb, since I seem to have gotten booted off the request list at the library, and then came home alone.  Nowhere near as good as our planned evening of dinner out and “Clash of the Titans”.  And we can’t make it up tonight — he has to work again — so it’s looking like Sunday is now Date Day.  Which is fine, but I was really hoping for one last nice evening before Southern Honey goes on third shift, when we could stay out as late as we wanted and sleep late the next morning.

Now it appears that the plan is to hit up the Expectant Parent Fair down at the hospital Sunday afternoon (no, I’m not pregnant, but we’re thinking about it and I have no idea how often they host the Fairs) and then catch a showing of “Clash of the Titans” and have dinner.  Although not necessarily in that order… Just depends on when the showings are tomorrow.

Perhaps this afternoon I’ll drag the old dresser out into the sun and get started sanding it down.  It’s nice outside, and I could use a tan.  In the meantime, I need to plan a menu for this week and get a grocery list together.  I’m really craving some pasta salad, for some reason, so that’s going to have to come into play at some point, even if I just fix it to take to work.  Although that might have to wait until I can get some circulars from the local stores — I hate that they don’t get delivered in the mail the way they did in Virginia.  Makes it a lot harder to plan around what’s on sale, which is something I need to get a lot better at doing.  We’re going to have to start working on and sticking to a set budget each week.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Date Night… Or Not

  1. Mary says:

    You know, my local Safeway will send email circulars. I don’t get them, but the fiancé does. It helps us figure out when something we tend to buy in bulk is on sale.

    I’m sorry your date night didn’t work out, though. That’s just crappy.

    • southernsugar says:

      The only store down here that does email circulars is Kroger. WalMart’s circulars don’t include groceries, for whatever reason, and the only other grocery stores we have are Aldi and SavALot. I need to just go to both of those stores and make a list of the items we routinely buy, plus their prices. That way I’ve got it on file for the next time I need it.

Leave a Reply

