Trees!


Irony alert: Despite attempting to avoid all the “Sign up for our door prizes!!!!” yesterday at the Expectant Parent Fair, we won a door prize.  So we’re now the bemused owners of two adorable baby outfits, some cute bibs and a pack of Johnson & Johnson baby toiletries.  I feel like some weird kind of hoarder now that I’ve stowed everything in the closet.

Our Arbor Day Foundation trees arrived in the mail Saturday, and we finally got them planted this evening.  They’re just little sprigs, really, so we’re going to have to stake them to make sure they don’t get destroyed by inclement weather.  There were supposed to be ten, but there was an extra crabapple sprig and a lilac bush sapling.  So we dug twelve holes instead of ten.  It took quite a bit longer than I had anticipated.

I had forgotten about the fact that our yard apparently grows rocks in addition to weeds.  Southern Honey kept taking the pickax to the ground and clanging off the darned things.  Hilarious to me, not so much to him.  But he was the one doing the swearing, not the one listening to it.  *grins*

And now I’m off to bed.  I want to drop by the Farmer’s Market across the street from my office in the morning.  Hopefully I’ll snag some yummy veggies for dinners the rest of the week.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

