I thought we never had to move again?


When we moved into the house, I was pretty sure that our moving days were over, at least for several years.

What I forgot to take into account is the fact that my mom was still living in an apartment and actively looking for a house.  And that when she finally found one, she would need help getting moved in.  Namely from us.

That explains how I ended up dragging myself out of bed early Saturday morning, fervently hoping that we could get everything done before Rainpocalypse 2010 descended on the area.  It totally did not happen.  In fact, before Saturday was over, we survived flash flood conditions, got soaked about five or six times and still managed to move all of my mom’s stuff in relative dryness.

Downside?  I got hit in the face with the business end of a bungee cord while we were loading things up into the moving truck (which was massive, although not quite massive enough) and pinched a nerve in my shoulder trying to move something with my brother’s girlfriend that we really shouldn’t have been trying to move.  It tickled, to say the least.  Also, numerous people seriously entertained the idea of throttling my uncle, myself included, although none of us acted on it.  Thus, he survives to whinge another day.

By the time all was said and done, though, we had my mom in a house of her own, out of the ghetto that her apartment complex had become.  The house is lovely (a little bit bigger than ours, actually), in a safe neighborhood and it’s hers.  I’m really pleased that she was able to find something at last.

In other news, I’m trying out this new WordPress format, Twenty ten.  I’m not sure I really like it, as it has screwed up my font and font size.  I can’t figure out how to fix it.  I think I’m going to have to learn CSS or else ditch WordPress altogether for something more user-friendly and customizable.  It’s annoying me.  Bleh.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I thought we never had to move again?

  1. Mary says:

    I’ve been using “MistyLook” – I like it because it has a customizable header, and I think that the font colors and such are determined by whatever the main colors in your header are. So the picture I’m using is mostly green, and thus, all my fonts and stuff are green as well.

    Still, css isn’t that hard to learn, especially if all you really want to do is change the font size. I’ll also warn you – I’ve used a lot of blog platforms over the years, and WordPress is way better than a lot of others out there. You’d have a hard time finding something that really is better.

    • SouthernSugar says:

      Ah, I like that one. I don’t know why I haven’t tried “MistyLook” yet (this is something like my fourth format for this blog). I do think I’ll pick up enough CSS to change the font and font size for this one, though.

      I used Xanga for a while, and it allowed a great deal of customization. Actually, I probably still have a Xanga floating around out there somewhere; I just can’t remember the password and I don’t use that email address anymore! I’ve also got an Open Diary account and probably one other floating aruond somewhere. But the one I really miss is Diary-X. I documented a ridiculous amount of my life during my freshman and sophomore years of college on their site. Then the servers crashed and burned, and I lost it all (because I was too stupid to back my stuff up periodically). You’re right, though, about WordPress being a lot better than most of what’s out there.

      Actually, this just led me to look for the reincarnation of dx — Codexed.com They’re finally up and working. It’s only taken them four or five years to get the Beta up and running. 😛 I think I’m going to cruise over there and see if it’s as user-friendly as dx was. If it is, I just might move over there, if I can get the same user name.

  2. msucshot says:

    I would definitely suggest learning CSS. It seriously takes about 10 minutes, and the W3C has all the documentation on its website if you’re confused about anything. Though I suppose that if you want to get really creative with this blog thing you could learn HTML or ASP.NET, set up a server, and run your own blog site. Yeah, you should do that.

    • SouthernSugar says:

      Sure, little brother, it all sounds so easy when you say it like that, but then I stop to think a moment and recall that you’re a computer science major. 😛 You’re right, though, it probably wouldn’t take too long. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

