Should I stay or should I go?


Here at WordPress, that is.

Some comments on yesterday’s post got me thinking about all the sites that have hosted my online journals in the past.  When I first got started, I was thoroughly happy at diary-x.com.  I was able to do all sorts of customizations, based from a friend’s template and changed slowly over time as I got more comfortable with how the code worked behind the scenes.  I stayed on dx for nearly two years, from the start of my freshman year of college until the site’s servers bit the dust sometime my sophomore year.

I lost a lot of memories and a lot of reflections on the growth I underwent that year when the site died.  I also learned the value of offline backups.

After the crash, I moved to Xanga, where a large number of then-college students were blogging and networking.  I was able to recreate much of the appearance of my dx site, although I never got as comfortable as I was on dx.  Nor did I use it as religiously.

As time passed, I used Xanga less and less, but I still wanted a place to jot down my thoughts.  I moved in with Southern Honey and found Open Diary.  I used that for a time, while I kept an eye on the forums that grew up around the ashes of dx, waiting for it to be reincarnated.

In the meantime, my use of a blog waned.  I got caught up in work, school, living with a member of the opposite sex for the first time, friends, turning 21… Life, basically.  I didn’t seem to have a lot of time to spare for introspection.  I had also fallen out with the friend who got me started on dx, and that had soured me some on the entire blogging experience.

I graduated from college in 2007 and got my current job in January 2008.   I moved out on my own, living alone, completely alone, for the first time ever.  That left me with a great deal of time on my hands for reading and writing and introspection.  Which led me back to the Codexed forums one last time, where I discovered that the journaling feature had finally been reinstated.

Unfortunately, while I signed in and wrote an entry then and there, I apparently promptly forgot all about the darned thing and never went back.  And when I started up this blog, it never occurred to me to visit Codexed again and give them a second chance.  That’s how I ended up here at WordPress, missing the easy customization and huge amount of personalization I enjoyed once upon a time in college.

Tonight I went back to Codexed, trying to decide whether or not I wanted to go back.  It’s been so long that I don’t have a readily available template; I’d have to start from scratch.  But I started from scratch once before, and it was the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Then again, maybe that’s not what I need anymore.  Maybe I’ve outgrown the need to mold the space around me into something I love in cyberspace.  After all, I have a house for that now, right?  Freshman year was a long time ago, and I was a very different person then.  I’m also never going to be able to get back what I’ve lost.  Maybe it’s best to make a clean break with that part of my life.

Who knows?  Maybe I’ll use both simultaneously.  We’ll see.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Should I stay or should I go?

  1. Mary says:

    For what it’s worth, I have found that, at this point in my life, what matters most to me is having a platform that’s easy to use, and a blog appearance that is mostly just not ugly. I used to do a lot of fiddling around with html and css and whatnot, back when I used Blogger’s first incarnation and then Livejournal.

    But these days, it’s actually kind of nice to just have a relatively clean-cut appearance on my blog, and focus more on writing non-emo, non-drama-seeking posts. 🙂

    Plus, the stats on WordPress are nice. It’s comforting to know that people are reading my blog (even if they aren’t commenting), so that I know I’m at least not talking to myself!

    • SouthernSugar says:

      I do like the stat and comment functions, that’s a good point! I never did find a good platform for incorporating them into dx…

      Is it weird that I actually get all quasi-emo about the fact that I don’t like the way my blog looks? 😛 I apparently need something to be emo about, and my brain seems to have decided that that something is going to be blog design. *rolls eyes*

      I think that part of the reason it bothers me is because I’m putting myself out there for people to read, but the background is this incongruous chunk of color or what-have-you that doesn’t fit. One of these things is not like the other, you know?

Leave a Reply

