Sink or Swim


Today was quite a long day, but in the end it was worth it.  I came into my current position a great deal younger and less experienced than is the norm, and I’ve been working my butt off for the past several months.  It felt very good to hear from the boss that the work I’ve been doing has been good and has been noticed.

Now I just have to make sure I don’t slack off.

I do have to say that I worry sometimes about performing at the next level.  With a higher pay grade comes great responsibility, after all (man, I love bastardizing that line!).  It’s just that I’m not sure I know what I’m doing at my current level yet, so am I really going to be able to succeed in the future?

I shouldn’t be surprised by any of this — the entirety of the past three years has been about being thrown into successively deeper pools with no floaties and hoping I don’t drown.  I just can’t help but wonder if there isn’t going to come a time when I can’t tread water anymore.  I hope not, that’s for sure.

On a completely unrelated note, I think everyone I know at work had frozen yogurt today but me.  *drools*  And now I have to go have cookies and cream ice cream.  😀

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

