The Fastest Two Minutes in Sports


Awww, Noble’s Promise just couldn’t quite hang on, but I think he ran his heart out.

Super Saver, ridden by Calvin Borel and trained by Todd Pletcher, is taking home the garland of roses (after a serious bath!).  He’s still a home-state horse, bred and raised by Windstar Farms.  Even better, the guy who won CNBC’s “Call the Close” contest and got to place a $100,000 dream bet on the horse of his choice?  Chose Super Saver.  He just made $800,000 in two minutes.

The best part, in my opinion, is that all the horses finished safely.  I was more concerned than usual with the horrid track conditions that we might see horses fall/skip and injure themselves.  I’m glad to have worried needlessly.
Well, we’re coming up on post time, and the track looks like it’s a muddy mess.  The really horrible weather than rolled in overnight has done a number on Louisville, just as it has down here in Topper Town.  Fortunately, the weather in Topper Town is not the concern of thousands of people today; unfortunately, the weather in Louisville is.

I had forgotten what it’s like to watch the horses go from the paddock to the track, and how emotional it is when the crowd sings “My Old Kentucky Home.”  Perhaps I’m just a goof like that.

Which horse am I rooting for?  The one that was purchased for $10,000 by a group of 25 everyday Kentuckians: Noble’s Promise.  He’s racing from the #3 position and is at 24-1 odds.  I wish them luck!

Noble's Promise

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

