This is the week that never ends


Yes, it goes on and on, my friends.

Sorry, I just couldn’t help myself.  The really sad thing is that if I could have come up with a witty rhyme for the word “end”, I would have had the whole darned song worked out.  Luckily for everyone else, my rhyming skills are full of FAIL.

This week has felt ridiculously long, a situation not alleviated by the fact that, every time I turn around, something else comes up that gets me off track.  First it was a kerfuffle over the weekend that resulted in temporary insanity when Monday dawned.  Then it was a sudden, mad insistence on getting something done late this week or first thing next, so now I’m spending Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday in Cardinalville — should have seen me scrambling to make hotel reservations yesterday!  Finally, today it was finding out that there’s a meeting tomorrow afternoon in a city three hours away that I really need to attend, because the next chance won’t come about for another six months or so.  Which means that I’m going to spend six hours on the road tomorrow for a two hour meeting.

I’d ask myself “WTF?!” but I’m too tired.

At least Southern Honey’s interview appeared to go well today.  And I’m going to get to stop and have dinner with some friends on the way back from my meeting tomorrow night to make up for wasting a perfectly lovely Friday on the road.

I really should go to bed, but Prometheus is asleep on my leg, and I don’t have the heart to disturb him.  Besides which, I haven’t gone to the bedroom and turned the ceiling fan on yet, so it’s going to be uncomfortably warm back there.  This time of year is tricky — you want A/C during the warmer parts of the day, but at night the temperature drops off enough to open the window and catch a nice, cool breeze.  We compromise by turning the fan on in whichever room we’re occupying.

I’m not sure how we ever got by in the apartments we lived in that didn’t have ceiling fans.  They’re extremely useful for cooling down a room and circulating air.  Plus they’re far more energy-efficient than central air, so they don’t shoot your electric bill through the roof.  And in the South, where you wake up in hoodie weather but come home from work in tank top weather, you need the flexibility that the ceiling fans provide.

Which reminds me, we need to replace the overhead light in the kitchen with a light fixture/ceiling fan combination.  I still don’t understand how that can be the only major room in the house not to have its own ceiling fan.  Surely you need the alternative air source most in the room with the largest heat generators!  I guess the builders did not share my sentiments on the issue.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is the week that never ends

  1. Mary says:

    Our kitchen never had a ceiling fan because my parents have always had gas stoves. Too much moving air would cause problems in there. They just avoided cooking during the hottest parts of the day, and didn’t spend much time in the kitchen when it was really hot.

    I miss ceiling fans. Oregon doesn’t tend to have air conditioned spaces most of the time, because for 80% of the year it would just be an unnecessary waste. But trying to live through those few weeks of summer that are genuinely hot without a ceiling fan or air conditioning feels like torture. Especially last summer, with our record temperatures (100+ for several days running).

    I have one of those tower floor fans in the bedroom, but it’s just not the same.

    • SouthernSugar says:

      Hmmm, yeah, I can see how a gas stove and a ceiling fan might be incompatible… 😀 We’ve got an old-school electric one, though, so the danger of fire spreading courtesy of the breeze directly correlates only to my ability to set dinner on fire. 😀

      Ugh, I don’t even want to think about how awful it must have been when that heat wave rolled through last year! We were in Vegas at the time, and it was absolutely miserable when we had to go outside during the day, but at least indoors there was A/C. I’m a huge proponent of replacing ordinary light fixtures with ceiling fan/light combos in areas that have brief hot periods but no A/C, just for everyone’s sanity.

      We had an apartment at one point that had neither A/C nor a ceiling fan in the bedroom when we lived in Arkansas. The box fan we used just didn’t cut the mustard during August and September (and probably June and July, but I wasn’t there, thankfully). I’m surprised we didn’t go heat-nuts and strangle each other that year or something…

Leave a Reply

