Spaghetti alla yum


Last night was the end of a long week full of odd eating times, so on my way home from work I stopped to pick up a couple of bottles of wine: merlot to drink/cook with this week and strawberry wine to celebrate our wedding anniversary next weekend.  I had planned on making Joelen’s buttermilk pork chops initially, but I wasn’t in the mood to work that hard for dinner last night.

Not that I actually got around to fixing dinner until around 10 or so, but when I did, pasta with lots of veggies sounded like the best option.  I had a bunch of produce that I needed to use before it went bad.  The results I think I’m going to call spaghetti alla yum because I think it’s a bit beyond a marinara.  And because I want to.  😀

Before

The usual suspects

For the sauce I used an assortment of fresh veggies and a bit of store-bought sauce since I didn’t have any tomato paste or sauce.  You could also leave out the sauce altogether and just have a pasta primavera-type dish.  I happen to like a saucy sauce, so I added the store-bought.

Red bell pepper
Green pepper
Zucchini
Roma tomato
Baby Portobello mushrooms
Spinach
Red wine
Olive oil
Italian seasoning
Red pepper flakes
Salt & pepper
Prepared spaghetti sauce

Heat pan and add olive oil.  When oil is hot, add the vegetables that will take the longest to cook, as well as a dose of red wine.  In this case, that was the green and red peppers, followed by the zucchini and tomatoes.  I sauteed all of the vegetables with salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and Italian seasoning while my spaghetti cooked, finally adding the mushrooms and prepared sauce.  When the spaghetti was about ready, I tossed in the spinach leaves and allowed them to wilt.

Mmm, saucy!

And as usual I made enough sauce for two people

Then I drained the pasta and tossed it into the pan to finish cooking and to soak up the tasty, saucy goodness.  Once that was done, I dished the whole kit and caboodle up to enjoy with a glass of the red wine (Fox Brook merlot, not bad for drinking either).

Pay no attention to the stain on the stovetop

The finished product

I don’t intend to eat that late again anytime soon, though.  I ended up staying up until almost four in the morning!  But spaghetti alla yum was worth it.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spaghetti alla yum

  1. Emily Smithley says:

    Well to this I would only add the following ingredients to your spaghetti recipe.

    Orange bell pepper
    Yellow bell pepper
    Shredded Carrot
    Onion chopped (medium)
    Clove of garlic
    Mild Italian sausage
    Shredded potato (medium)

    Giving some extra colour and fiber.

    • Mmm, those would have been tasty additions! I get so used to avoiding onions for Southern Honey (he hates the texture) that I don’t always remember to toss them in when I’m just cooking for myself.

Leave a Reply

