Balsamic braised pork with onions and mushrooms


I keep intending to make Italian buttermilk pork chops but forgetting that it has to marinate for four hours.  So when I go to fix dinner at six or eight in the evening, the pork chops just ain’t happening.

Instead, last night I went for a modified version of balsamic braised Italian sausage with onions posted on January 14th in the same blog.  I was short on Italian sausage, but we had what Southern Honey dubbed “pork nuggets”: roughly two pork chops that he had cut into chunks when he cut up the tenderloin we bought last week for freezing.  I made cheesy egg noodles and salad to go with it.  The results, despite not having quite the right ingredients, were very good.

Om pork

The pork, onions and mushrooms

Ingredients for two servings (original recipe is for 4):

1 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
1/2 pound pork, cut into 1″ chunks
1/2 medium onion, sliced thinly
1/2 TBSP dried thyme leaves
Garlic powder (the recipe calls for garlic cloves, but I forgot until the last minute that I was out)
1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
1 cup chicken stock or chicken broth
1 TBSP honey

Heat a skillet over medium high heat with the extra virgin olive oil. Add the pork and brown on all sides. Remove pork from the skillet and set aside.

To the same skillet, add the onions, thyme and garlic powder; season with salt and pepper. Cook the onions, sirring frequently, until they begin to caramelize or brown (FYI, this is rather hard to tell with red onions and will involve lots of “Is it browned yet?  Is it caramelizing?” *rolls eyes*).

Add the balsamic vinegar, chicken stock , and honey. Bring the liquid to a simmer, then add the browned pork back to the pan and braise the pork until it is cooked through and the sauce has reduced by half.

Just don’t be like me and forget that you need little things like side dishes until you’re at the braising stage.  Egg noodles take more time to cook than the liquid will most likely take to reduce, and starting them at this stage of the process will result in lots of juggling of temperatures not to overcook/undercook things.  😛

Oh, Cheesy Egg Noodles: Cook about 4 oz of egg noodles according to package directions.  Drain.  Return to pan and add shredded cheddar and colby jack cheeses, along with butter and pepper as you like it.  Add a smidge of milk and stir until cheese is melted and noodles are gooey. (What?  That’s totally a technical cooking term!)

Et voila!

Toss a salad on the plate, and you've got a full meal!

If my plates seem to be a bit lacking on the meat portion, that’s because I’m apparently physically incapable of eating more than about three ounces of protein at a sitting.  Fortunately for me, Southern Honey would rather be a carnivore than an omnivore, so he takes care of the extras.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Pork, Starch Sides and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Balsamic braised pork with onions and mushrooms

  1. Jennifer says:

    This looks really good! I just happened to pick up some pork this week and we love anything with balsamic vinegar! If I use it and blog about it I will certainly link up the recipe to your blog!

    I have a recipe for Balsamic Rosemary Tortellini with Chicken you might like. It’s very similar to this pork recipe and I’m sure you could make it without even checking out the recipe on my site but let me know if you stop by 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! I totally recommend this one. 😀

      I will definitely check out the tortellini recipe; it sounds very much like something I would go for (I’m a pasta nut). I may wait a bit to try it — we’re going to be redoing the landscaping in front of the house, and I’m planning on making part of it an herb garden. Rosemary is one of the plants we’re putting in.

Leave a Reply

