Whole wheat pancakes with strawberry compote


This is what happens when I buy too many strawberries: I find myself in my kitchen going, “But we’re going out of town, and I’ve got to get rid of all these.  But I bought a whole giant thing of strawberries and I’m sick of having them in my oatmeal for breakfast; I can’t eat them all by myself!  Wait, why is Southern Honey going to bed?  Who’s going to help me eat these things?!”  Then I get online and I google, and I end up having breakfast for dinner.

Whole wheat pancakes (from eHow with some modifications)

In progress

Take some pancakes...

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/8 cup brown sugar
1-2 cups milk
Splash of vanilla extract
Dash of cinnamon

Pour the flour into a bowl; sift if desired.  Add the baking soda and combine thoroughly, then add brown sugar and cinnamon.  Stir in milk and vanilla to desired pancake-y consistency (I ended up using almost two cups even for a half-batch); using a mixer rather than a fork or spoon will create more air bubbles in the batter, resulting in fluffier pancakes.   Then slap on the griddle with a bit of veggie or canola oil — you can use a quarter-cup or eighth-cup measuring cup of batter to keep the size of the pancakes consistent.

These had a nice, nutty flavor, but I had some trouble getting them all cooked all the way through without burning them; they were fairly dense.  I think that was because I used a small pan instead of the griddle to cook them on and couldn’t get the heat adjusted quite where I needed it to be.  I think I might add an egg next time to make them a bit fluffier, too.

Strawberry Compote (from The Daily Green; I more than halved this recipe, since I was cooking for myself, but it ended up requiring me to measure less and improvise more, so I’m posting the original ingredients)

Simmering strawberries

Add hot strawberries with a hint of flavoring...

Ingredients:

1 TBSP butter
2 pounds strawberries, hulled and sliced
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Melt the butter in a pan over medium heat, stirring, until it starts to turn a golden brown.  Add the strawberries and sprinkle them with the sugar.  Cook, tossing (or, in my case, stirring, since tossing leads to strawberries on the range hood) occasionally, until the strawberries are lightly carmelized, about ten minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and cinnamon.

The compote turned out quite a bit better than the pancakes.  I really couldn’t find much to critique about the compote recipe, although it called for adding a splash of warmed apple liqueur on top.  I opted to pass on that, but I bet it would be good.

The finished product

Et voila!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whole wheat pancakes with strawberry compote

  1. Jenn says:

    Mmmm this is one of my favorite breakfasts! The compote looks great! I would agree about adding in some eggs – also looking at your recipe for the pancakes it looks like you are missing an acidic element in your batter – baking soda needs acid in order to work and make the bubbles that make pancakes light and fluffy – I would try using buttermilk instead of milk, or adding in some lemon juice next time, it may help with the “dense” factor as well 🙂

    • I didn’t even think about the acid, which is unfortunate — I actually have buttermilk on hand. I will definitely sub that in for the normal milk the next time. Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

