Getting my act together


I’ve come to the realization that if I’m going to consider having an alien invader take up temporary residence in my body, I’m going to have to get in better shape.  And by “alien invader” I mean a real, live human being, of course.  I don’t think that there would be much point in getting in shape if I were playing host to an Alien.

The point is, I’m out of shape, and that really needs to change in the next little bit.  I only weigh about ten pounds more than I did in high school, when I was in freakin awesome shape (isn’t it funny how we don’t realize things like that until we look back?  I thought I was a serious chubster back then, but checking out some photos from when Southern Honey and I first started dating, I was clearly mistaken), but I’m out of shape.  I can’t run anymore.  I get out of breath too easily.  And I’m carrying more weight below the waist than I’d like already.

I don’t necessarily want to lose weight.  I don’t really need to.  But I do need to go from Miz Wheezy to someone who can walk several miles without getting a stitch in her side, which I apparently can’t do anymore.

I’m not sure yet how I’m going to do it, but I’m going to work on a plan over the weekend.  It will probably result in me having to get up earlier (boo!), but that’s better than using the only other time I have to myself during the day (after Southern Honey goes to work, aka right before I crash out for the night).

Maybe I’ll wake up and bust out the Carmen Electra strip aerobics workout disc.  That would be far, far cheaper than getting an exercise bike, which is what I’d really like.

I’m also going to work on eating healthier.  Tonight’s dinner of chips and salsa?  Not terribly good for me.  I’ve already started by switching to whole wheat pasta and ground turkey in place of ground beef (not to mention spinach instead of lettuce in just about everything), but I think I will be looking for more recipes out of sources like “Cooking Light” to experiment with.

All this work, just to make room for the alien invader… *grins*

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

