Mmmm, tacos!


I would love to know whose brilliant idea it was to have things go to hell in a handbasket at work this month.  With everything going on, I didn’t even bother trying to get away from my desk at lunch.  And where I stuck around an extra fifteen minutes, I could have stayed 45 more and still not been done!

Between mental exhaustion and the temperature (yet another 90 degree day), I knew there was no way I was going to want to be in the kitchen with the oven on long enough to bake chicken.  So, Monday’s menu plan got pushed back at least a day.

Fortunately, changing my mind gave me a chance to try a new recipe for taco seasoning that I found online a couple of weeks ago.  I’d say it was a middling success, but only because of my preparation.   But more about that later; look at my lovely photo of well-dressed tacos:

Yum!

Colorful, flavorful, what more could you ask for? (I'm thinking sour cream and guacamole, personally.)

Homemade Taco Seasoning, from With a Cherry on Top

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp chili powder
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

Toss all the ingredients in an air-tight container, seal and shake to mix thoroughly.  You can adjust the amount of each spice that you put in to your own tastes.  I went easy on the salt, since I don’t care for too much and Southern Honey salts everything extensively anyway.

This makes enough seasoning for four one-pound batches of ground beef/turkey/chicken (not quite a tablespoon per batch).  Brown and drain your meat, then add the seasoning and a bit of water*.  Stir to distribute the seasoning evenly.  Then scoop into taco shells, onto tortillas or over chips and dress with your choice of toppings.  I used salsa, shredded lettuce, black olives and cheddar cheese.

*I added about a cup of water to the ground turkey with the seasoning, which was too much.  Next time I think I’ll add about a quarter-cup, just enough to make sure the seasoning doesn’t clump.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Mexican, Seasonings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

