Blueberry Muffins


Sometimes I feel like my job has all the perks I could require and then some, gifting me with an abundance of seemingly unearned time off and flexibility.

Then there are weeks like the past three, when I’m either on the road incessantly, living out of hotels, or stuck in the office quite late and working like mad to stay on top of things.  Not only have I been running around like a chicken with my head cut off, it’s been so hot with the A/C out at home that I’ve barely felt like cooking since I came back from Indianapolis.  The highlight of my week thus far has been the arrival of the repairman and the restoration of the cool.

I was so appreciative of the lovely coolness that I was feeling positively generous toward work last night.  As a result, I happily volunteered yesterday afternoon to prepare breakfast for a horde of hungry law enforcement officers.  After all, it was a chance to make sure I didn’t have to eat stale doughnuts and to flex my baking muscles.  How could I resist?

I know my limits, though.  I wasn’t ready to tackle two or three dozen muffins from scratch.  Instead, I bought enough mix to make eighteen in a variety of flavors (banana nut and apple cinnamon), and then made the final dozen from the raw ingredients.  Despite spraying sugar and salt everywhere in my efforts to cream them in with the butter and discovering at the last minute that I had baking soda, not baking powder, the blueberry muffins turned out surprisingly well and were more popular than anything but the homemade granola bars, which are an established favorite among my coworkers.

What's blue and brown and tasty all over?

Pile o' muffins!


Blueberry Muffins, from AUNTLYNNIE’s recipe at AllRecipes.com

Ingredients
1/2 c unsalted butter
1 c white sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 c all-purpose flour, divided
1/2 c whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking soda (calls for 2 tsp baking powder)
1/2 c buttermilk
1 pint fresh blueberries (rinsed, patted dry and divided)
2 Tbsp white sugar (I left this off)

Preheat the oven to 375*.  Spray your muffin tin with non-stick spray and/or drop in liners.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar and salt until light and fluffy.  Preferably without sending the ingredients flying.  I had stuck the butter in the freezer, so it was good and cold, and this took some serious work.  Once the ingredients are creamed, add the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla.

Mix together 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, baking soda/powder, and cinnamon.  Beat in the flour mixture and buttermilk alternately, mixing just until incorporated; I needed a bit more buttermilk to keep the batter from being too thick.  Crush 1/4 of the blueberries and stir into the batter.

Combine the remaining blueberries with the remaining 1/4 cup of flour and fold into the batter — the flour coating keeps the blueberries from sinking through the batter when they’re in the oven.

Scoop the batter into the muffin tins.  This pretty much filled mine completely, making for some lovely muffins.  You can then top the batter with the remaining 2 tablespoons of sugar; this is supposed to create a lovely, shiny top (I was feeling lazy and had been sweeping up sugar for like ten minutes, so I opted not to get the sugar bowl out again at that point).

Bake for 30 minutes or until golden-brown.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry Muffins

  1. Mary says:

    Excellent recipe! We have a ton of blueberries around right now (it’s blueberry season here in Oregon), so I decided to make these this morning.

    I didn’t have any buttermilk around, so I curdled some milk with vinegar. With a lot of baked goods, you don’t so much need the buttermilk taste as you do the chemical reaction it spawns. And incidentally, you can substitute baking soda and cream of tartar for baking powder. 🙂

    But, the muffins are fantastic! I went ahead and sprinkled some sugar on top — I highly recommend it for next time. It makes the tops have a little crunchy, sweet crust that is quite delicious in combination with the rest of it. I also made them without whole wheat flour. My all-purpose flour is King Arthur Flour’s White Whole Wheat, so I just used 2 cups of that. If you haven’t tried out that type of flour, you might want to. It has as much fiber as whole wheat flour, but you can use it in lots and lots of baked goods where wheat flour would be a little icky. I mean, you probably don’t want to use it for angel food cake or something (since the flour is a little darker than even unbleached white flour), but it’s great for things like quick breads or cookies or brownies. It doesn’t make them healthy, of course, but it does make them a little bit better. 🙂

    • I’m glad it worked out for you, too! I did end up substituting baking soda for the baking powder; I haven’t been able to find cream of tartar to save my soul — I went looking a while back because I wanted to make snickerdoodles and finally threw my hands up in disgust.

      I might have to look into getting some King Arthur flour, because I see it getting kudos among the baking community all the time. And with a white wheat flour, I could make bread that Southern Honey would eat without realizing it’s fairly healthy. Hmmmm… 😀

Leave a Reply

