Middle Eastern Food


I have a love affair with the Middle East.  The culture, the food, the music, the languages… I find it fascinating and incredibly complex.

I’m not sure whether my love of the region came from my decision to major in Middle East Studies in college or my choice of majors came from my love of the region.  Not that it really matters, just saying that it’s one of those chicken-or-egg things.

Anyway, my heart just went all pitter-patter recently when I found out I had been invited to a bachelorette party with an Arabian Nights theme.  Immediately I thought, “Hooray, I can finally try out a hummus recipe I’ve been holding onto!”  Unfortunately, that cheery hope was quickly dashed when I found out someone else had already volunteered to bring the hummus.  Then I thought, “That’s all right, I can make tabbouleh!”  But I found myself wondering how well it would travel, as the party is a three-hour drive up the interstate.

By now, I’ve just thoroughly confused myself.  I’m not sure what I want to bring.  Do I want to introduce my friends to the delights of Bedouin tea (so sweet it’ll take your breath away) or Moroccan mint tea?  Tabbouleh or muhammara or baba ghanoush?  Or perhaps baklava?  (I think that’s perhaps more of an undertaking than I’m capable of, but the darned stuff just calls my name!)

All I really know is that I’ve ordered the bachelorette a belly dance waist chain and I’ve made a note to find my hookah case.  I have no idea what I’m going to wear, but if I can find one of those awesome hip scarves with the bells or coins, I’m so going to buy and wear it.  😀  I do wish I had a nice tea set, though…

And so, good readers, I ask you: If you were in my shoes, what would you make?  What recipe would you use?

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Middle Eastern and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Middle Eastern Food

  1. Mary says:

    Personally, I’d go for the baba ghanoush, but that’s only because I don’t know what those other dishes are. 🙂 Chances are good I’ve had them, and even talked about them, but I sure haven’t ever seen them written out.

    Plus, baba ghanoush is yummy, and something even the pickiest of eaters (like me) might like.

    Or, you could do me a favor and learn how to make pita bread and then tell me. There is very little on God’s green earth like fresh pita bread (also, fresh naan), and it totally blows away anything you can buy in a store. But I never have yet tried to make it.

    • Tabbouleh is this yummy salad-type dish made with lots of fresh parsley, mint, cucumber, tomato and bulgar wheat. Muhammara is a spicy dip that has red bell peppers, walnuts, onion and some spices in it. I just might do baba ghanoush, though — eggplants are on sale cheap right now. 😀

      I would love to be able to make my own pita bread. I might look for a recipe and see how difficult that would be; it might end up being more work than I really want to devote.

Leave a Reply

